DePauw's NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

The NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship was created in 1964 to promote and encourage postgraduate education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes through their participation in NCAA championship and/or emerging sports. Athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership, are evaluated.  An equitable approach is employed in reviewing each applicant's nomination form to provide opportunity to all student-athlete nominees to receive the postgraduate award, regardless of sport, division, gender or race.  In maintaining the highest broad-based standards in the selection process, the program aims to reward those individuals whose dedication and effort are reflective of those characteristics necessary to succeed and thrive through postgraduate study in an accredited graduate degree program.

As of 2018-19, the NCAA awards up to 126 postgraduate scholarships annually, 63 for men and 63 for women. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

The one-time grants of $10,000 each are awarded for fall sports, winter sports and spring sports. Each sports season (fall, winter and spring), there are 21 scholarships available for men and 21 scholarships available for women. The scholarships are one-time, non-renewable grants.

For more information please visit the official  NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Site.


DePauw's NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

Year Student-Athlete Sport in which scholarship was awarded
1968 Bruce Montgomerie football
1969 Tom McCormick men's basketball
1970 Richard Tharp men's basketball
1972 Steve Overman men's basketball
1973 Gordon Pittenger men's basketball
1977 Mike Kinney men's track and field
1978 Mark Frazer football
1981 Jay True football
1985 Rich Bonaccorsi football
1986 Tony de Nicola football
1986 Phil Wendel men's basketball
1988 Nancy Gritter women's swimming and diving
1992 Tom Beaulieu football
1998 Charee Campbell women's swimming and diving
1999 Susan Bender women's basketball
2001 Adrienne Gough women's cross country/track & field
2003 Katie Reis women's swimming and diving
2010 Megan Soultz softball
2012 Catie Baker women's swimming and diving
2014 Jack Burgeson men's swimming and diving
2014 Alex Gasaway women's basketball
2014 Paige Gooch women's golf
2015 Maggie MacPhail women's tennis
2015 Cory Meixner baseball
2016 Alex Alfonso men's swimming and diving
2018-19 Suzanne Peters volleyball